Home         Contact us        Links        فارسي 

Fars Province
The province of Fars covers an area of 121,825 km2 and lies to the south of the central regions of Iran. It is one of the richest provinces of the country as regards archeological sites and historic monuments and tourist sights.
This province is surrounded by Hormozgan province to its south, Yazd and Isfahan provinces to its north, Kohgilooyeh-va-Boyrahmad and Bushehr provinces to its west and Kerman to its east.
The capital of this province is the historic city of Shiraz and its other major cities are: Abadeh, Estahban, Eghlied, Bovanat, Jahrom, Darab, Sepidan, Fassa, Firouzabad, Kazeroon, Laar, Marvdasht, Mamassani and Neyriz.
In 1996, when the latest census was taken, the province had a population of 3,817,036. Some of the inhabitants of this province are tribes who migrate back and forth between their summer and winter resorts, every year. The major nomad tribes are Ghashgai, Khamseh and Mamassani.
The province has mountains and highlands in the northern parts which render these parts a cold-temperate climate. Average annual rainfall in this region is 500 mm.
The altitude in the central parts of this province is much lower and consequently there, the summers are warm and dry, and the winters temperate. The southern parts, which are even lower in altitude, have very warm summers and temperate winters.
The average temperature in the capital, Shiraz, is 9.9°C in spring, 27.4°C in summer, 14.2°C in autumn and 7.9°C in winter. In a study carried out over a 30-year period, the average annual temperature of Shiraz was established to have been 17.6°C; average relative humidity at 06:30 am, 58%, and at 12:30 pm, 29%; average annual rainfall, 372.5 mm; maximum amount of rainfall, on a single day, 99 mm; average number of days with the temperature below 0°C, 51; average number of sunny hours over the entire year, 3,306.9; and the maximum wind speed, 29 meters per second, blowing in the direction of 210°. 
Shiraz City

Shiraz, the capital of Fars province, is 1,540 m above sea level and lies at a distance of 895 km from Tehran. It is one of the most prominent cities of Iran. This city enjoyed particular glory and prosperity before Islam. Kourosh I established the Achaemenid dynasty in this region in 553 BC, which dynasty, after two centuries of rule over Iran, was overthrown by Alexander the Macedonian. Today, the remains of the Palaces, tombs, and castles of the Achaemenid era in the Marvdasht region, northeastern parts of Shiraz, are considered as one the most outstanding historic monuments of the world.
Shiraz was captured by the Moslem army in 28 H.G. (circa 649 A.D.), and its people gradually became Moslems. During the Saffarian and Deylaman era, Shiraz once again became a prominent city; and during Safavid era many monumental buildings were constructed there.
Shiraz has witnessed many tragic events in the course of history, including a devastating flood in 1079 H.G. (circa 1668 A.D.), general massacre at the hands of Nadershah (ruled 1736-1747) and the outbreak of plague in 1175 H.G. (circa 1761).
Karimkhan Zand chose Shiraz as the capital circa 1780 A.D. and this city enjoyed more glory and prosperity. During its long history, Shiraz has always been one of the most significant centers of Persian literature and raised a large number of great poets and writers such as Hafez, the greatest composer of lyric poetry (ghazal) in the Persian language, and Saadi, the great Iranian poet, writer and sociologist.


Fars province is one of the major centers of handicrafts. The most important handicrafts of this province are carpet weaving, cloth weaving, pottery, inlaid work, needlework and mat making.